The Council

21 Sep 2017

The Scotch Whisky Association is governed by a Council of 12 to 16 members, elected at its Annual General Meeting. The Council appoints a number of committees to assist it and to advise it on different aspects of its work.

The Council of the Association sets the strategic direction and agrees the overall policy of the SWA. By drawing its members from chief executives and other senior figures in companies of all sizes, the Council reflects the interests of all members. It meets four times a year.

The Council of the Association

Pierre Pringuet, Chivas Brothers Ltd (Chairman)

Peter Gordon, William Grant & Sons Ltd (Vice Chairman)

Fraser Thornton, Distell (Treasurer)

Alberto Baladi, Beam Suntory

Ian Curle, Edrington

David Cutter, Diageo plc

Rita Greenwood, William Grant & Sons Ltd

Marc Hoellinger, The Glenmorangie Company Ltd

Laurent Lacassagne, Chivas Brothers Ltd

Stuart Lowthian, John Dewar and Sons Ltd & Bacardi

Scott McCroskie, Edrington

Ivan Menezes, Diageo plc

Dan Mobley, Diageo plc

Alexandre Ricard, Chivas Brothers Ltd

Leonard Russell, Ian MacLeod Distillers Ltd